Length: Approximately 19 weeks - The day academy is conducted and completed during each of the regular semesters (fall and spring). Classes are conducted between 7:30 am and 5:30 pm, Monday through Friday; however, Police Driving and other skills classes may be conducted occasionally on weekends or at night. The night academy classes are 6 pm to 10 pm, Monday thru Friday, however some classes may occasionally be conducted on weekends.
Purpose: The Alvin Community College Law Enforcement Academy train women and men for a career in Law Enforcement. The course curriculum is designed so the student can meet the testing objectives of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) and be certified to take the TCOLE licensing examination. In addition, students will earn a total of 25 credit hours. The Academy has graduated over 100 classes during the last 3 decades.
Accreditation: The Alvin Community College Law Enforcement Academy is an approved training academy by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.
Admission Requirements: To be eligible for the program the student must:
- Be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency (GED);
- Be a U.S. Citizen;
- Be 21 years of age at the time of completion of the course or seek special approval from the Academy Director;
- Successfully pass a Vocabulary and Reading Comprehension proficiency exam prior to the enrollment process;
- Provide a valid Texas Driver’s license;
- Provide a Birth Certificate;
- Provide a high school diploma/GED + college transcripts (if applicable);
- Agree to purchase and wear the prescribed academy uniform;
- Complete TCOLE L-2 (Declaration Medical Condition) and TCOLE L-3 (Declaration of Psychological and Emotional Health);
- Accurately complete a personal history statement;
- Sign required waiver forms as presented by the college;
- Abide by the rules of the Academy and Administrative orders;
- Pay special fees associated with the Academy courses;
- Meet the minimum standards for licensing as required by TCOLE (Texas Administrative Code 217.1) which are applicable to a training environment.
The following is a summary of the standards and should any conflict occur between the summarized standards and the TCOLE standards, then the TCOLE standards will govern: (TCOLE rules are subject to change without notice)
- Be 21 years of age prior to being commissioned.
- Be fingerprinted and pay the necessary fees.
- Not be on probation for any offense above a class “C” misdemeanor.
- No convictions in past 10 years for misdemeanor offenses above a Class “C”.
- No felony convictions.
- No convictions or served no probation for offenses relating to the responsibilities of the office as a peace officer.
- Be of good moral character.
- Prior military must have honorable discharge.
- Be a U.S. citizen.
Special Registration Requirements:
Since this course is governed by the TCOLE rules the following special conditions apply:
- No late registration; all special conditions to registration must be completed prior to the first class meeting.
- The student must attend an orientation prior to the start of the academy.
Day Academy students must enroll in Basic Peace Officer I, II, III, and IV and the Basic Firearms course in the same semester to attend the Academy and these courses are available only to those attending the Academy. The student must successfully complete the entire series to receive credit in any of the courses and their licensing endorsement. Night Academy students must meet the same requirements as the Day Academy students, but have the Fall and Spring semester to complete the series.
Special Fees charged by the college:
- Ammunition/Range Fee $475.00
- Driving Fee $15.00
- CPR Card Fee $5.00
- TCOLE Exam Fee $25.00
- Required Supply Fee $30.00
Purchases expected by the student:
- Required uniforms and related supplies.
- Required books.
- PE clothes, shoes.
- General supplies.